Rules for Roman Conquest: The First Triumvirate
Created by a group of MIT students.

Caesar, Pompey, and Crassus are each members of the first Triumvirate of Rome. Each are
out conquering lands for the motherland and earning glory for themselves. They return to Rome
after conquest to throw parades for themselves and earn popularity, which is used to woo
Roman troops to add to their forces.

It has become clear to these leaders, however, that Rome may be available to them for their own
desires.

You play one of these leaders and must outsmart or outmuscle your way to conquering Rome
for yourself!

Materials

Board

15 gray counters (Roman troops)

33 red counters (Crassus’s troops)

25 orange counters (Caesar’s troops)

26 blue counters (Pompey’s troops)

1 red, orange, and blue counter, each with a black dot (Crassus, Caesar, and Pompey
respectively)

Setup
1. In every hex with a T, add a troop belonging to the force whose hex is closest (Rome,
Crassus, Caesar, or Pompey)
2. Add the leaders to the hexes with their names on them (Crassus, Caesar, and Pompey)
3. Roll for first player. Play continues clockwise afterwards
Objective
Either be the last man standing or occupy Rome for four turns after civil war has begun.
Play
Movement
You may roll 1d6. If you do, your leader moves at most that many hexes.
Your troops may each move up to one hex per turn.

No more than 4 troops may coexist in any hex. Your leader does not count towards this
limit.



e Because Pompey had a navy, his player is the only one whose troops can move across
water.

Play is split up into two phases: Conquest and Civil War.
Conquest Phase

e If your leader is in his military zone, instead of moving him, you may collect a conquest
token (two if your leader is Crassus). You may only hold at most four conquests.

e If your leader is in Rome, instead of moving, you may throw a parade in his honor:
exchange all of your conquest tokens for the same number of popularity tokens. These
are face up.

e This phase ends when a non-Roman troop enters Italy (the hexes with bolded borders).

Civil War Phase

e Leftover conquests are useless. Be sure to throw parades before civil war begins!
e End your turn with your leader in Rome for four consecutive turns to win!

Acquiring Roman Troops

If, at the end of your turn, your leader is on a hex with Roman troops, you may roll a d20. If the
roll is less than or equal to your popularity (sum of your popularity tokens), these troops join your
forces. Be careful, though: acquiring Roman troops in Italy will cause civil war to begin!

This may be done during either the conquest phase or the civil war phase.
Combat

Leaders cannot fight without troops.
Roll a d6 for each troop in both forces. Add a d8 if a leader is in a force.
Compare the highest rolls: the loser loses one troop. Continue until one side has no more
dice. Roman soldiers do not retreat! Continue rolling until one force is annihilated!

e Ifaleaderis in alosing combat, he is killed and that player is out of the game. His troops
become Roman troops and are open to be acquired. Defender wins ties.

e Roman troops will not fight a leader traveling alone (even during civil war), but will fight
any Roman troops that enter their hex. When fighting Roman troops, another player rolls
for them.
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